Skip to main content

New Zealand Curriculum

We base our learning programmes on the New Zealand Curriculum’s vision of “young people who will be confident, connected, actively involved, lifelong learners.” The New Zealand Curriculum identifies several Learning Areas:

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • The arts (music, drama, and dance)
  • Health and physical education
  • Science
  • Social science
  • Technology

We actively teach each of these, with a particular emphasis on literacy and numeracy.

The New Zealand Curriculum also identifies five Key Competencies that are fundamental to educational success:

  • Thinking
  • Using language, symbols, and texts
  • Managing self
  • Relating to others
  • Participating and contributing

These Key Competencies are woven throughout all our programmes.

The New Zealand Curriculum encourages schools to develop learning programmes best suited to their students’ needs. We have developed our own Teaching and Learning Handbook, which guides our staff in the implementation of the Curriculum.

Further information on the New Zealand Curriculum can be found here.